An Introduction to Twitter

Seeing as there are no doubt hundreds of guides out there to help people start using Twitter, I had absolutely no desire or intention of adding my own drop to the ocean.

However, when preparing a talk for the Department of Conservation web team, I was unable to find any that I really liked. As a result, I sighed deeply and wrote my own. I had intended on it going no further, but was shortly thereafter asked if I could send it through to my wife who was assisting her workmates with starting on Twitter.

Following further discussions with friends who were in similar positions with workmates and family, I’ve figured I might as well make it available for all:

Online version

Downloadable .pdf

So there it is. You’re welcome to use it as you wish, or ignore it comepletely. If you have any feedback or suggestions for changes, they would be most welcome.

I’m certainly no expert. 😉

Published in: on 21 June 2009 at 9:48 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mrjudkins.wordpress.com/2009/06/21/twitter101/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m not sure what the current situation is with the #fixreplies thing, but is it worth saying that new arrivals will probably be getting an incomplete ‘feed’ if they’re not following the same people that the person they’re following is following. If you see what I mean…

    Twitter’ll probably not seem very social if you’re missing out on a lot of the @replies between people.

  2. Thanks Nikki – I did entirely forget to mention that you only get to see @replies when you follow both involved parties.

    That change didn’t end up affecting me so much, as I was already using this option beforehand. As I belong to more than one community on Twitter who don’t really have much reason to mix, it kind of makes sense to me that those who belong to one shouldn’t constantly be seeing my responses to those in another.

    That said, I’m all for choice, and I do understand many preferred the option. I guess it really comes down to just how many people you’re wanting to connect with, how you’re wanting to ‘meet’ them, and how much noise you can filter out.

  3. The change didn’t affect me a huge amount either – mostly because I have probably already maxed-out on the number of people I can meaningfully follow: with an established geographically local collection of communities and also an interested-in-games community (that one probably stands as more of a single community).

    Without the “show me all replies” setting I probably wouldn’t have found the voices in the latter group though. Superstruct -> conversation with @Bookmore (blame him!) -> spidered out from there.

    It’s interesting to see the hacks already being employed by established users to circumnavigate the restrictions; I’m curious to see what tactics newcomers might adopt. Hope there’s still space for serendipity 🙂

    Anyway, probably a long-winded way of saying “nice to meet you” rather than wanting to get too into analysing Twitter!

  4. Ha! Nice to meet youu too. 🙂

    I know what you mean about hacks – I see a few users putting a “.” before the @username when replying.

    The other way I’ve used to hook into the wider members of a community is through #hashtags too. I think there is a huge potential for community interaction without even having to officially follow people through them…


Leave a Reply

